Fort Ross

 Catalog: film soundtracks
Composer: Yuri Poteyenko
Price: 9.99 usd + shipping


"Fort Ross" Original Motion Picture Score
Limited Edition of 300 copies
Label: KMRCD 034
Date: 2014
Tracks: 24
Time: 57"41

Directed by Yuriy Moroz, Fort Ross is a Russian adventure film based around the history of Russia's most important colony in California. The story shifts between St. Petersburg in 1825, Fort Ross in 1820 and modern times as a group of Russian journalists travel to San Francisco. Thanks to an iPhone struck by lightning, the group gets transported back to the 19th century where they immediately witness the hardships of Russian colonists. While battling a motley group of pirates and forging an alliance with the local Pomo Indians, the people of Fort Ross turn out to be real adventurers who can stand their own ground, even though all they wish for is to be left on their own and prosper.

The score for Fort Ross was written by Yuri Poteyenko, one of the busiest Russian film composers. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory in 1986, his majors were composing (class of N. N. Sidelnikov) and choral conducting (class of the professor Lyashko). Some of his most widely seen works are Timur Bekmambetovís Night Watch and Day Watch and the haunting Shostakovich-inspired score to Leningrad. Other scores by Yuri Poteyenko available on our label include Sea Dogs, Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales, Wind Man, Georg, The Irony of Fate 2 and The Salamander Key.

During the composition of Fort Ross, Poteyenko revisits his classics pirate-themed video game scores (Sea Dogs, Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales) as well as one of his own personal favorites, Isaak Dunayevsky score for the Soviet production of Captain Grantís Family. The lush, symphonic swashbuckler score pays equal parts homage to Hans Zimmer's Pirates of the Caribbean for the marauders as well as John Williams whimsical family adventures for the journalists' adventures. Recorded in Moscow, the score recruits all the top talents of the local film music scene who contributed to Poteyenko's past successes. The CD comes with 8-page liner notes by Gergely Hubai discussing the film and the score.


01 - Main Titles/ 200 Years Later (1:49)
02 - The Old Letter (1:03)
03 - The Magic Shop (1:46)
04 - Marketplace (1:06)
05 - Meetings and Greetings (2:00)
06 - Fort Ross (2:35)
07 - Pirates in the Town (1:17)
08 - Water Gun/Kidnapping (1:08)
09 - The Mission/On the Trail (3:25)
10 - Russian Rum (1:09)
11 - Ship on the Horizon (0:55)
12 - On a Pirate Ship (2:14)
13 - Gunpowder Storage (1:02)
14 - Escape from the Ship/Under Fire/Pursuit (6:41)
15 - Pirates vs. Naval Cadets (2:39)
16 - Wounded Fima (1:03)
17 - Scooter (0:40)
18 - Fima and Lucia (3:48)
19 - The Path to the Coast (2:00)
20 - Night Attack/Return to the Fort Ross (5:24)
21 - Second Chance (3:26)
22 - Under Siege/ Victory (5:18)
23 - No Fate Than the One We Are Creating (2:12)
24 - End Credits (1:57)
© Copyright KeepMoving Records 2006  
homepage film soundtracks tv soundtracks video game soundtracks composers contacts